7.9

Alberta. After going through many changes since the creation of the Cultural Development Act of 1947, cultural development attained department status in its own right and had its first full year of operation in 1975-76. It was one of two departments created when the former culture, youth and recreation department was divided; the other is the recreation, parks and wildlife department. The two divisions of the culture department are historical resources and cultural development. Cultural development division is responsible for performing arts, visual arts, film and literary arts, library services, cultural facilities, cultural heritage, auditoriums and the censorship board.

The division's programs are intended to give the public opportunities to witness the best in performing arts tours and art exhibitions and to conduct training courses at regular intervals for a variety of leaders, particularly teachers, librarians, and music directors. Workshops and conferences are held to train people in all aspects of theatre. Awards to individuals wishing to further their training in some form of the arts amount to over \$250,000 annually. The Alberta Art Foundation, established in 1972, has been allocated \$50,000 annually for the purchase of Alberta arts and crafts. The budget for the year ended March 31, 1977 was in excess of \$7 million.

A new \$2.5 million program for library development provides for a system of central, regional, municipal and community libraries, bibliographic services and services for the handicapped. Grants are provided to advance creative writing through professional training and writers workshops. Competitions are sponsored for new

novelists, best published non-fiction work and best regional history.

The Southern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium at Calgary and Northern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium at Edmonton are identical multi-purpose facilities each containing a 2,762seat theatre, four meeting rooms and exhibit area. In April 1975 a major \$200 million program was launched to develop cultural recreation facilities in Alberta communities over a 10-year period.

The cultural heritage branch provides grants to ethno-cultural groups; the division helped establish a Cultural Heritage Council. Under a language support program financial help is available to ethno-cultural schools operated outside school hours.

The Alberta Film Censorship Board, attached to the division for administrative purposes, issues permits for all films approved for exhibition in Alberta.

British Columbia. The British Columbia Cultural Fund was set up by statute in 1967. That act set aside \$5 million in an endowment fund, the interest from which was to be spent to stimulate the cultural development of the people of the province. In September 1967 an advisory committee was established to receive applications for cultural grants and to report their recommendations to the finance department for the necessary funds. The amount of the endowment was raised to \$10 million in 1969, to \$15 million in 1972, and to \$20 million in 1974. Proceeds from the Western Canada Lottery Foundation are used, in part, to support cultural activities.

An advisory body to the fund, the British Columbia Arts Board, was appointed in November 1974 to make recommendations to the provincial government on the

allocation of cultural grants from the fund.

Up to December 31, 1976 grants totalling almost \$9.5 million had been awarded by the fund to support cultural activities throughout the province. The fund also provides a small degree of financial support to the National Theatre School, the National Youth Orchestra and the Canadian Music Centre.

Grants totalling \$2.4 million were made in the fiscal year 1976-77, of which about 70% went to major non-profit organizations such as symphony, drama and opera societies. About 15% of the grants went to community arts councils and the remainder to scholarships, seminars and miscellaneous grants.

Federal film agencies

7.9.1 National Film Board

The National Film Board (NFB), an agency of the federal government, was established by act of Parliament in 1939 and reconstituted by the National Film Act in 1950 to